Tulip tree blooms for Project Budburst

tulip-tree in early May 2009

tulip-tree in early May 2009

I completed my Project Budburst observations for 2009 when my tulip tree (Liriodendron tulipifera) bloomed in my wooded piece of Connecticut.  This, along with my other observations – first bloom of the common dandelion (mid-April), as well as Eastern Red Columbine and Jack-in-the-pulpit (early May) – are now listed with thousands of others at the Project Budburst website.  Phenologists use these data to build nationwide information about plant habits and climate change.
Tulip-tree-in-bloom

Tulip-tree-in-bloom

I have one, treasured tulip tree in the woods behind my house that first bloomed about May 31.  Unless you have a tulip tree in a prominent area or frequently walk under one in the woods, you may not see their waxy, tropical-looking blossoms until they drop from the tips of the often 60 feet high branches.  This year other commitments kept me so busy that I nearly missed catching the yellow-orange hand-sized blossoms swaying in the treetop.  If you look closely in the photo above, you can pick out the orange at the base, yellow at the rim, cupped flowers facing upward as if waiting for dew to collect in their base.  It’s not easy to capture these flowers on film – as my amateur photo shows – but one watchful photographer luckily caught a perfect tulip tree bloom after it fell to the ground.

But back to Project Budburst, which is a great project for getting kids and budding gardeners involved in nature watching.  The website provides printable Identification Guides of native shrubs, trees, wildflowers, herbs, and grasses – with photos – making identification easy for everyone, no matter their age.

My participation renewed my interest in watching for native vegetation … what have your Project Budburst observations taught you?

2 Comments

Filed under Gardening, General, Project BudBurst

2 responses to “Tulip tree blooms for Project Budburst

  1. I love garden art. All your photo look great. Nice blog also.

  2. I should start looking up.

Leave a Reply

