Garden touring

touring joene's garden

touring joene's garden

There are a couple of interesting sounding garden tours this weekend for those who are more caught up with their gardening tasks than I … and I suspect there are many of you out there.  Normally I would jump at the chance to visit other gardeners’ gardens, but this year mine beckon too forcefully to give up a weekend day.  So while I tour my own gardens, others will be touring these.

June 13 – 10 to 3 – rain or shine.  Northeast Organic Farming of Connecticut, fondly called CT NOFA is sponsoring an Organic Garden Tour.  Call 203-888-5146 to register to visit private gardens in Shelton, Westport, Wallingford, South Glastonbury, Hamden, Southington, Lebanon, Manchester, West Hartford, Windsor, Coventry, Tolland, and Sterling.  The tour will also feature Hatchery Brook Community Gardens in Berlin, School Courtyard Gardens at Barnard Magnet School in New Haven, a community garden and trail at Flanders Nature Center in Woodbury, a community garden at Unitarian Universalist Society in New Haven, and the Master Gardener/Foodshare Garden at the Auer Farm in Bloomfield … you choose which and how many gardens you want to visit.  Sounds like a great deal for $20, and one of the most intriguing parts of this tour – boy I wish I could go – is that all the featured gardens are not completed to perfection so visitors can observe gardens in progress.  Fantastic!

June 14 – 10 to 4.  Country Places Garden Tour opens up private gardens in East Haddam to visitors.  Meet at the Old Town Hall (488 Town Street), pay the $20 registration, and head off to be wowed.

bearded-iris

bearded-iris

If you visit, think of me while wandering, and do share your experiences.  I’ll be busy weeding, planting, mulching, and smelling the flowers here … rain or shine.

3 Comments

Filed under Gardening, General

3 responses to “Garden touring

  1. This must be the unofficial garden tour weekend, we have three of them happening here in Fairfield county that I’m aware of. Like you, I think I need to focus on my garden rather than marvel at some elses. We need to organize a winter garden tour so we can attend in our off season!

  2. joenesgarden

    Ooo … I like that idea. There are some beautiful gardens on islands in the Caribbean that need touring.

  3. Several days ago I saw a sign advertising Essex Garden Tours for 6/20, 10AM park/meet at Ivoryton Cong. Church. Web info to be at http://www.Ivoryton.com and a phone number listed as 860-767-1252. my 2 cents.

Leave a Reply

