Nor’easter continued

With the light snow that continued pretty much all day, and judging by the amount of snow I shoveled off the walkways, I estimate about 9-10 inches of snow fell from this storm … how much fell at your house? And, as much as I was not looking forward to again seeing a blanket of white covering my yard, I’m still able to admire the perennial beauty and utter peacefulness of freshly fallen snow. However, my back does not feel the same admiration as do my eyes. Before shoveling I managed to compile the bones of my 2009 garden journal. Not a great photo here, but its enough to give you an idea … except the amount I listed for snow is simply not high enough. pc060074

All months have one page, except January shares with February and November likewise shares with December. Each page lists a monthly calendar, optimal planting dates according to the Old Farmers’ Almanac (http://www.almanac.com/), a short space to notate significant or unusual weather, a basic To-Do list, and lots of space for jotting when I plant seeds, germination dates, when I move them outside for hardening off, and when I ultimately plant them outside … all housed in a water resistant 3-ring binder that has pockets for a pen, pencil, other notes, and is sturdy enough to stand up to outside use. I welcome comments …

2 Comments

Filed under Gardening, Seasons

2 responses to “Nor’easter continued

  1. hendu

    Your calender is missing an important date………3/18-23 get outside and play baseball. 10″ of snpw makes that difficult

  2. joenesgarden

    Give it time … it will melt.

Leave a Reply

