Mid-May Blooms

We’ve had a chilly, rainy May so far in southern Connecticut, but regardless of the weather, May always delights the senses.  Here’s what’s blooming around my piece of Earth.

Compact white lilac

Compact white lilac

 

 

 

 

 

 

lilac Syringa vulgaris 5-09

Common lilac - Syringa vulgaris

Lilacs – both a compact white variety and the common lilac-colored Syringa vulgaris.  For hints on bringing lilac blooms inside see a previous post.

 

 

 

 

Sweet Woodruff

Sweet Woodruff

Lily-of-the-Valley

Lily-of-the-Valley

Parital shade lovers – Sweet Woodruff above and Lily-of-the-Valley to the left.

 

 

Eastern Red Columbine

Eastern Red Columbine

Eastern Red Columbine, one of my amateur phenologist choices for Project Plants.

 

 

 

 

Azalea flower

Azalea flower

 

Azaleas –

raspberry-colored,

 

 

 

 

 

 

Compact pink azalea

Compact pink azalea

 

 

and a compact pink variety.

 

 

 

 

Wood hyacinth 5-09

Wood hyacinth

 

 

Wood hyacinth just starting to open.

 

 

 

Just opening chives

Just opening chives

 

Chives – newly opening.  Watch for my future post on how to use chive blossoms.

I’m closely watching for iris, peony, and clematis blossoms, and waiting for columbine  – shared from my sister’s northern California plants – to brighten some shadier spots.

To experience blooms elsewhere, visit the Garden Bloggers’ Bloom Day links at May Dreams Garden – a true mid-month treat.

6 Comments

Filed under Bloom Day, Bulbs, Edibles, Gardening, Perennials & Annuals

6 responses to “Mid-May Blooms

  1. Ooooh, my Lilacs and Lily of the Valley ended last week and you are making me miss them already.

  2. Lilacs! I can only imagine the grand fragrance. They do not thrive here, but we had them where my childhood grew.

  3. Joene,

    You’re right – it is interesting how much farther along my garden is than yours even though we’re on different ends of the state. My white lilac is past it’s prime and so are my lily-of-the-valley.

    Hopefully the warm weather today will make things grow in your neck of the woods. Happy Bloom Day!

  4. Seems like the lilacs are everywhere these days 🙂 My neighbor has one just on the other side of the fence. I deadhead the parts I can reach and that part of the plant blooms reliably each year and smells terrific (right beside my deck – delicious!). The other half – well, not much happens there. The neighbors can’t figure out what’s “wrong” with the lilac. Obviously, you’ve got lilacs all figured out!

  5. joenesgarden

    Removing spent blossoms and pruning at the same time and at no other time really helps with subsequent blooms. It just takes paying attention.

Leave a Reply

