GOOPs Day – part deux

Every gardener has blunders.  Come on, admit it, you must have committed a gardening faux pas.  After three-plus decades of gardening I have (maybe one or two?) gardening oops – GOOPs for short.

Today, June 1, is the second GOOPs – Damn-I-wish-I-hadn’t-done-that – Day.  On the first of the month, I share one of my GOOPs, and give you the chance to share one of your own.  The seed idea for GOOPs Day came from Carol at May Dreams Gardens.  The first GOOPs day harvested

But I suspect more dirty little GOOPs are out there.  Here’s another of mine.

Perennial-sweet-peas

Perennial-sweet-peas

Perennial sweet peas – lathyrus latifolius – are great climbers.  Shortly after we moved into our home, I planted them to mask a vent pipe and a downspout.  This worked well for years – we really enjoyed watching hummingbirds gather nectar from the pale to dark pink flowers.  But with time, the vines became more and more unruly and I constantly had to keep their tendrils from attaching to the nearby window screens.  So when we revamped that area of the yard, I decided to try moving these vines to a newly created slope that screamed for an easy-care, attractive, flowering cover.  The key words here are try moving.

06-2005 sweet pea-lathyrus latifolius

Sweet Pea - lathyrus latifolius - vines

Established perennial sweet peas have thick roots that seem to reach to the core of the earth.  The fact that they were growing along the foundation of the house in spots surrounded by bluestone walkways did not make the chore easier.  I’m truly surprised that I was able to uproot any of the plants intact enough for them to survive, but after two seasons the transplanted sweet peas have claimed an ever-expanding section of their new embankment home. The moral of this GOOPs?  Do your homework.  When planting near a structure, plan as much as possible for the plants impact in the short-term and ten or more years out.  In my landscape, sweet pea vines work much better in their current locale where their rampant growth and flowering helps cover an unsightly slope, and the hummingbirds can feed on their nectar with less human intrusion.

Now it’s your turn.  Add your GOOPs in a comment or write a teaser GOOPs that links back to your GOOPs tale on your own blog.  Since we learn best from our mistakes, let’s share our mistakes and learn from each other.

3 Comments

Filed under Gardening, General, GOOPs-Gardening Oops, Perennials & Annuals

3 responses to “GOOPs Day – part deux

  1. Joene,

    Not planning for long-term growth near the foundation of your home is a ‘classic’ GOOP that I dare say almost every gardener has made.

    My GOOP for June is about buying the wrong tree…I’d planned for long-term growth when siting it I just hadn’t planned on poison seedpods!

  2. I spread too much ant poison through the yard and my wife got pretty ticked off at me. OOOPs

  3. joenesgarden

    It’s always important to do some homework, whether you are planting a tree, perennials … or spreading an insecticide.

Leave a Reply

